Search and Rescue Regions

South Africa's search and rescue regions correspond with what is prescribed by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and the International Maritime Organization (IMO) and includes the independent states situated therein.

The South African area is divided into two Search and Rescue Regions (SRR), namely, the aeronautical and maritime Search and Rescue Regions.

The Aeronautical Search and rescue Region covers the continental area of the sovereign territory of South Africa, Namibia, Swaziland, Lesotho and associated flight information regions.

The Maritime Search and Rescue Region is as follows:

  • On the Western side, it is approximately halfway between South Africa and South America.
  • On the Eastern side, it is approximately halfway between South Africa and Australia.
  • On the Northern side, it borders on Namibia, Angola, South Africa and Mozambique and then proceeds to the South Pole.

SASAR's total area of responsibility for both maritime and aeronautical is approximately 28,5 million square kilometres and stretches down to the to the South Pole.


The following is the diagrammatical representation of SASAR's Search and Rescue Regions

Copyright © 2017 Department Of Transport. All rights reserved. Republic of South Africa. | Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use